You are here

Presiding Judge Carla J. Baldwin

« Back to Municipal Court

Court Information

Bailiff: Rachel Wagner
Secretary: Doreene Carson
Municipal Court - Administrative/Presiding Judge Carla J. Baldwin
Youngstown Municipal Courthouse, 3rd Floor, Courtroom 1
9 West Front Street
Youngstown, OH 44503
Office Phone: (330) 742-8855
Fax: (330) 742-8716
Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday, 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Presiding Judge

Portrait of Presiding Judge Carla J. Baldwin

The Hon. Carla J. Baldwin

Education: Juris Doctorate, WMU Thomas M. Cooley Law School
Served Since: 2018
Term Began: January 1, 2018
Term Ends: December 31, 2023


Carla J. Baldwin was elected as a Judge in Youngstown Municipal Court in 2017. She has served as Administrative and Presiding Judge of Youngstown Municipal Court since the fall of 2018. She presides over misdemeanor criminal cases and traffic cases as well as two specialized dockets: Drug Court and Veterans Treatment Court.

The Judge received her Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Capital University (Columbus, OH). She obtained her Juris Doctorate degree from Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School (Lansing, MI) with a concentration in Litigation. She has been a member of the Ohio Bar since 2008.

She most recently worked as a full-time Magistrate in Mahoning County Juvenile Court. Prior to this appointment, she worked for the Mahoning County Prosecutor’s Office for eight years, serving as an Assistant County Prosecutor in both the Criminal and Juvenile Divisions. She presently serves as an Adjunct Instructor in Criminal Justice Studies at Eastern Gateway Community College.

Judge Baldwin and her husband Brandon are proud lifelong residents of Youngstown.

Judge Carla J. Baldwin made history on November 7, 2017, when she became the first African-American female elected as judge in Mahoning County.

Boards and Organizational Commitments:

  • Opera Western Reserve
  • The Butler Institute of American Art
  • Classroom 2 Capitol
  • Mahoning County Corrections Planning Board
  • Youngstown Warren Black Caucus
  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Ohio State Bar Association
  • Ohio Black Judges Association
  • Kent State University Police Academy Advisory Board
  • Inspiring Minds
  • Mercy Health Youngstown
  • Raymond John Wean Foundation
  • National Association of Presiding Judges and Court Executive Officers
  • DEI Committee – Ohio Access to Justice Foundation
  • Membership Committee – Ohio State Bar Foundation

Leadership Roles:

  • President Elect –Mahoning County Bar Association
  • District Trustee – Ohio Womens Bar Association

Awards and Honors:

  • YWCA’s Board Member of the Year Award (2013)
  • Mahoning County Young Professionals 25 Under 35 Award (2014)
  • YWCA’s Outstanding Achievement Award (2017)
  • Ebony Lifeline Support Group Inc. Community Service Award (2017)
  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Epsilon Mu Omega Chapter Woman of Courage and Vision (2018)
  • Diva of Distinction - Youngstown Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc.(2018)
  • Judicial Award from the Ohio Association of Magistrates (2018)
  • Trailblazer of the Year Award from Omega Psi Phi Fraternity (2018)
  • Ohio State Bar Foundation Community Service Award for Attorneys 40 and Under (2018)
  • Inducted as an Ohio State Bar Foundation Fellow (2019)
  • Inducted as an Honorary Member of Pi Sigma Alpha at Youngstown State University (2019)
  • Ohio Legislative Black Caucus Phoenix Award (2019)
  • Athena Award Nominee (2020)
  • NASW Region 4 Public Elected Official of the Year (2020)
  • Community Member Induction - Youngstown State University Chapter of Phi Kappa Phi (2021)

Past Community and Organizational Commitments:

  • Nathaniel R. Jones Inn of Court
  • Mahoning County Young Democrats
  • Sojourner House Advisory Board
  • Junior Civic League
  • Junior League of Youngstown
  • Mahoning County CASA
  • YWCA of Youngstown
  • Youngstown Chapter of The Links, Incorporated
  • Ohio Young Democrats - Parliamentarian